March 3, 2020 – Presidential Nomination Primary

The process to select major-party presidential candidates will look different in Minnesota in 2020. Instead of caucus straw polls, the state will hold a presidential nomination primary election on Tuesday, March 3. Voters must select one major political party, and will vote for the candidate they want to represent the party in the 2020 presidential election.  Common questions about the Presidential Nomination Primary are answered below:

Will all parties participate int he PNP?
No, only major parties will participate.

Will all parties be on the same ballot?
No, each major party will have a separate ballot.

Will any other offices be on the ballot?
No, only presidential candidates from a major party will appear on the PNP ballot. Other offices with a primary will be on the primary ballot in August.

How do I select a party?
On Election Day, an election judge will help you select a party on the poll book. Absentee voters will select a party on their application. You must select a party to vote.

Who will know what party I selected and how I voted?
A voter’s choice of party ballot will be recorded and is private data. However, a list of who voted in a PNP and the political party each voter selected will be provided to the chair of each major political party. How a voter voted on the ballot will be a secret.

How will I be able to vote in the PNP?
Vote at your normal voting location on Tuesday, March 3 between 7 a.m. and 8 p.m. or by absentee ballot in the 46 days before the PNP (starting January 17, 2020). A voter must request the ballot of the party of their choice. If a voter refuses to select a party, they will not be able to vote in the PNP.

Will there still be precinct caucuses?
Yes, precinct caucuses will still be held February 25 for all other elected offices and to conduct other party business.


August 11, 2020 – Primary Election

Absentee Voting Begins June 26, 2020

November 3, 2020 – General Election

Absentee Voting Begins September 18, 2020



Translate »